February News Roundup

Posted on Posted in Masculinity Research News

Commentary

An issue that reveals itself this month is how to sort articles that are based in one stage but critique another. In particular, Stage 3 appears disproportionately large in February: this is mostly because we find a Stage 3 analysis of Stage 1 or 2 masculinity. In these instances, articles have been sorted by the stage we learn most about: the source or the object of criticism.

Stage 1 articles contain the standard masculine signifiers: sex, sport, violence, and meat consumption.

Stage 2 articles had far greater representation in February than might appear on first glance. First, there were many stories about Donald Trump and masculinity. Second, there were just as many stories about the Roosh neo-masculinity meet-ups (it’s perhaps no surprise that Roosh is a fan of Trump!). Links to indicative articles are provided.

Stage 3 articles are numerous, as they also refer to previous stages, as mentioned above. Stage 3 articles have greater representation here than Stage 3 in society, one suspects, due to Stage 3 masculinity becoming more standard in those responsible for media and cultural production.

Stage 4 articles have the usual queer angle. But the important thing here is not that Stage 4 is queer. Instead, we must ask the question: What does queerness have to say about ALL masculinity? There were also numerous Jaden Smith articles in February (not listed here apart from one which offers a new direction of analysis): a continuation from last month.

Stage 5 articles are completely absent this month.

Stage 1

Teenage boys’ attitudes to risky sex ‘can help predict what type of father they will be’: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/love-sex/young-male-attitude-to-risky-sex-can-predict-their-attitudes-to-fatherhood-northwestern-school-of-a6893321.html

From jousting to football: the ideal man hasn’t changed much since medieval times: http://theconversation.com/from-jousting-to-football-the-ideal-man-hasnt-changed-much-since-medieval-times-54920

Men think they need to eat meat to be manly—and it’s making them sick: http://qz.com/622306/men-think-they-need-to-eat-meat-to-be-manly-and-its-making-them-sick/

How About We Go Outside And Settle This Like Emotionally Stunted Men?: http://www.theonion.com/blogpost/how-about-we-go-outside-and-settle-this-like-emoti-38033

Masculinity continues to be the norm in Punjab: http://www.tribuneindia.com/news/comment/masculinity-continues-to-be-the-norm-in-punjab/198550.html

Manliness Is a Warm Gun: http://takingnote.blogs.nytimes.com/2016/02/12/manliness-is-a-warm-gun/

Why men fight: An empirical investigation of the extremes of masculinity: http://qz.com/613980/why-men-fight-an-empirical-investigation-of-the-extremes-of-masculinity/

What The Malheur Occupation Teaches Us About Masculinity: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/susan-m-shaw/what-malheur-occupation-patriarchy-masculinity_b_9116064.html

Stage 2

Final Fantasy VII’s Barret Portrays Positive Virtues of Masculinity: http://blacktridentmedia.com/2016/02/03/barret-portrays-positive-virtues-of-masculinity/

Donald Trump and Gavin McInnes: The faces behind the rise of secular but even more odious right-wing misogyny: http://www.salon.com/2016/02/15/donald_trump_and_gavin_mcinnes_the_faces_behind_the_rise_of_secular_but_even_more_odious_right_wing_misogyny/

Wanted in China: More Male Teachers, to Make Boys Men: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/07/world/asia/wanted-in-china-more-male-teachers-to-make-boys-men.html?_r=0

Brands are challenging the worst parts of masculinity, just in time for the Super Bowl: http://qz.com/606392/brands-are-creating-super-bowl-commercials-that-challenge-the-worst-parts-of-masculinity/

Daryush ‘Roosh V’ Valizadeh cancels neo-masculinist meetings over safety: http://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2016/feb/04/daryush-roosh-v-valizadeh-cancels-neo-masculinist-meetings-over-safety

Stage 3

Lego creates stay-at-home hipster dad figurine: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/12169574/Lego-creates-stay-at-home-hipster-dad-figurine.html

Excerpt from Indigenous Men and Masculinities: Brendan Hokowhitu: https://uofmpress.ca/blog/entry/excerpt-from-indigenous-men-and-masculinties-brendan-hokowhitu

Sense and Sensibility and Jane Austen’s Accidental Feminists: http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2016/02/sense-and-sensibility-jane-austen-emma-thompson/434007/

There’s More Than One Way Of Being A Black Man: http://www.voice-online.co.uk/article/there%E2%80%99s-more-one-way-being-black-man

How to be a man: A new generation of artists is rethinking the meaning of masculinity in Russia: http://calvertjournal.com/features/show/5472/post-soviet-youth-masculinity-boyhood-Russia

How To Be A Good Dad In 2016: http://uk.askmen.com/dating/single_fathers/how-to-be-a-good-dad-in-2016.html

The Deadpool phenomenon and the American male: http://www.newyorker.com/culture/richard-brody/the-deadpool-phenomenon-and-the-american-male

University isn’t for men? No one told me or my students: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/blog/university-isnt-men-no-one-told-me-or-my-students

Donald Trump, Hillary Clinton and the Politics of Presidential Masculinity: http://voicemalemagazine.org/man-enough/

Cam Newton and the Burden of History: http://www.thenation.com/article/cam-newton-and-the-burden-of-history/

The Violence Behind The Words ‘Be a Man’: http://www.alternet.org/sex-amp-relationships/violence-behind-words-be-man

Have Jews Become Obsessed With Bro Masculinity?: http://forward.com/opinion/333116/have-jews-become-obsessed-with-bro-masculinity/

As a male feminist, I feel sorry for Roosh V’s weak and easily manipulated ‘neo-masculine’ supporters: http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/as-a-male-feminist-i-feel-sorry-for-roosh-vs-easily-manipulated-neo-masculine-supporters-a6855746.html

Stage 4

Tiger Maremela uses digital collage to examine black masculinities in the “Rainbow Nation”: http://www.designindaba.com/articles/creative-work/tiger-maremela-uses-digital-collage-examine-black-masculinities-%E2%80%9Crainbow

Bro is an app that encourages men to explore sexual fluidity while retaining masculinity: http://hop.media/read/culture/bro-app

If a Man With a Vagina Can Be Just as Masculine as One With a Penis, Then Just Watch the Patriarchy Crumble: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daniel-lyons/if-a-man-with-a-vagina-ca_b_9263132.html

Jaden Smith’s Adventures in Gender Fluidity: What It Means, Who Profits: http://www.thewrap.com/jaden-smiths-adventures-in-gender-fluidity-what-it-means-who-profits/

What I Learned from Being Non-Binary While Still Being Perceived as a Man: http://everydayfeminism.com/2016/02/genderqueer-amab-experience/

Gender Fluidity Has a Toxic Masculinity Problem: http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2016/02/03/gender-fluidity-has-a-toxic-masculinity-problem.html

Stage 5

Nothing!