March News Roundup

Posted on Posted in Masculinity Research News

Commentary

This month, Stage 1 articles are represented mostly by health: A study about normative masculinity resulting in men not going to the doctor was reported in many media outlets. Stages 1 and 2 are also represented in numerous stories about Donald Trump and masculinity: these are not listed as they largely cover the same ground as last month’s articles.

Stage 2 remains in conservative territory, with a Right Wing article bemoaning America becoming the world’s “first transgendered nation,” by which the author means losing authentic masculinity.

Stage 3 articles are again numerous. As mentioned last month, Stage 3 articles have greater representation here than Stage 3 in society due to Stage 3 masculinity becoming more standard in those responsible for media and cultural production. On this issue, at least, the media is out of sync with society, and more progressive. March saw a lot of articles about TV and movie superheroes and masculinity, which are mostly not listed due to being covered in previous months, but is nonetheless emerging as a prevalent Stage 3 theme in 2016. Another noteworthy Stage 3 theme came in the shape of two articles: ‘Bro’-liferation and The New Man of 4chan. These articles both offer new insight into the changing language and power dynamics around certain sub-cultural groups of men, troubling perceptions about who’s on the inside of hegemonic masculinity and who’s on the outside.

Stage 4 articles are mostly represented by discussions around Indigenous masculinities. This subject received a lot of attention this month due to the publication of Robert Innes and Kim Anderson’s new book, Indigenous Men and Masculinities: Legacies, Identities, Regeneration.

There’s one Stage 5 article this month written by veteran male feminist John Stoltenberg, whose opinions on gender continue to evolve, keeping him ahead of the pack, stating; “both sex and gender are conceptualizable as fluidities, evidence of our species’ intrinsic and kaleidoscopic multisexuality.”

Stage 1

Study Suggests Fragile Masculinity Could Cost Hillary Votes: http://nymag.com/thecut/2016/03/fragile-masculinity-could-cost-hillary-votes.html

‘Tough guys’ less likely to be honest with doctor: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/308312.php

Hard times: the suicide scourge among Australia’s tradies: http://www.smh.com.au/good-weekend/hard-times-the-suicide-scourge-among-australias-tradies-20160218-gmxtcx.html

Stage 2

America, the First Transgendered Nation: http://www.masculinityresearch.com/2016/03/23/america-the-first-transgendered-nation/

What Masculinity Really Looks Like: https://sojo.net/articles/keeping-feast/what-masculinity-really-looks

Stage 3

“Blue Velvet”’s mystery of masculinity: http://www.salon.com/2016/03/28/blue_velvets_mystery_of_masculinity_how_david_lynchs_masterwork_reshaped_american_consciousness/

Author Shereen El Feki on the crisis of Arab men and masculinity: http://campaignme.com/2016/03/24/19998/9998/

On Exploring Masculinities in the Middle East: http://www.anthropology-news.org/index.php/2016/03/24/on-exploring-masculinities-in-the-middle-east/

Grace Ahlbom photographs the goofy masculinity of skate culture: http://i-d.vice.com/en_us/article/grace-ahlbom-photographs-the-goofy-masculinity-of-skate-culture-to-explore-her-own-gender-identity

‘Bro’-liferation: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/20/magazine/bro-liferation.html

The New Man of 4chan: http://thebaffler.com/salvos/new-man-4chan-nagle

Capturing Masculinity: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/ben-mirza/capturing-masculinity_b_9464384.html

The new books exploring masculinity and family life: http://www.masculinityresearch.com/2016/03/15/the-new-books-exploring-masculinity-and-family-life/

True crime interrogates toxic masculinity, at last: http://theconversation.com/true-crime-interrogates-toxic-masculinity-at-last-55633

Realistic Male Doll “Boy Lammily” Takes Aim at Toxic Masculinity: http://www.masculinityresearch.com/2016/03/11/realistic-male-doll-boy-lammily-takes-aim-at-toxic-masculinity/

Struggling with masculinity 2.0? This is what it means to be a man in 2016: http://www.standard.co.uk/lifestyle/esmagazine/struggling-with-masculinity-20-this-is-what-it-means-to-be-a-man-in-2016-a3198711.html

Black Masculinity as Performed in Japanese Visual Media: http://thenerdsofcolor.org/2016/03/09/black-masculinity-as-performed-in-japanese-visual-media/

I’m Every Bit the S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent That You Are: http://www.popmatters.com/feature/im-every-bit-the-s.h.i.e.l.d.-agent-that-you-are-exploring-opposing-masculi/

Critics of Vanity Fair’s Jordan and Coogler photo reveal black masculinity is still enslaved: http://thegrio.com/2016/03/08/criticism-michael-b-jordan-ryan-coogler-vanity-fair-homophobia/

I just wanna be a good dad: http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/mar/07/i-just-wanna-be-a-good-dad-is-this-the-best-we-can-do-on-fatherhood

Learning To Speak About Men in Bangladesh: http://www.thedailystar.net/star-weekend/learning-speak-about-men-785755

From Masculinity to Masculinities and Back to Men: http://discoversociety.org/2016/03/01/from-masculinity-to-masculinities-and-back-to-men-and-fame-too/

Stage 4

A Sissy’s Progress: the dangerous power of an effeminate man: http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2016/mar/16/nando-messias-on-a-sissys-progress-london-toynbee

Indigenous languages recognize gender states not even named in English: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/health-and-fitness/health/indigenous-languages-recognize-gender-states-not-even-named-in-english/article29130778/

What is Indigenous Masculinities Studies?: http://www.indigenousmasculinities.com/conversations/31-what-is-indigenous-masculinities-studies.html

Stage 5

50 Years of Gender Bending and Sex Changing: http://discoversociety.org/2016/03/01/50-years-of-gender-bending-and-sex-changing/